17 Minor Petes Alum WIN CHAMPIONSHIP!!!, News (Peterborough Minor Petes)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 30, 2014 | gwhite | 8574 views
17 Minor Petes Alum WIN CHAMPIONSHIP!!!
The Lakefield Fitzsimmons Towing and Repair Chiefs are Ontario champions winning the OHA Schmalz Cup Junior C championship.  Their roster included 17 Minor Petes Alum; Josh Duggan, Bryce Sweeting, William Sullivan, Shawn Mackie, Dalton Hill, Jesse Gregory, Mitch Stewart, Jordan Walsh, Keenan Runnalls, Eric Oosting, Ryan Saunders, Nick Hildebrand, Nathan Larson, Travis Brault, Derek Manley and Zach Wainman.  

Lakefield Chiefs Ontario Jr. C champions

The Lakefield Chiefs celebrate their 2014 Schmalz Cup win Sunday.

The Lakefield Chiefs celebrate their 2014 Schmalz Cup win Sunday.

The Chiefs completed a four-game sweep of the Essex 73's with a 6-2 win Sunday to capture the OHA Schmalz Cup junior C championship.

The victory at the Essex Centre Sports Complex came on the heels of a 4-3 overtime win in Essex on Saturday. It's the Chiefs third Schmalz Cup title and first since 2000. They also won in 1987 and are a perfect 3-0 in trips to the OHA final.

“This just unbelievable,’’ said head coach Tim McCormick as the champions headed home. “I always told the guys that championships are hard to come by and to cherish the moment. Everyone is so excited. It was our goal from the beginning of the season to go all the way and we did it. There is a sense of achievement. It is huge. The players bought in and they were committed, dedicated and determined.’’

After a 35-4-1 regular season to finish atop the OHA Central Jr. C loop, the Chiefs went 20-4 through five playoff rounds including finishing the playoffs on a 10-game winning streak. They beat Picton, Stoney Creek and Essex outside of their league on their way to the crown.

Two playoff games went into overtime, Game 7 in Picton and Saturday’s affair in Essex and McCormick said that said a lot about his club.

“They played like they wanted it more and there was never panic in the tough games,’’ he said. “They worked hard. There was no one person either. They were all leaders and different players came through. We were well balanced. Hats off to all the kids.’’

Jim Carson, director of hockey operations, said it was special for all the players.

“A lot never won an Ontario championship,’’ he said. “It was great for the overage guys and new players. It was exciting for them as well as Lakefield and the fans. We had a lot down here.’’

The Chiefs led the deciding game 2-1 after the first period, 4-2 after two and outscored Essex 2-0 in the third period. They were two-for-seven on the power play while shutting out Essex on 11 man-advantages.

Eric Oosting's goal six seconds into the second period proved to be the winner. Derek Manley scored twice and added an assist, Jordan Walsh, Saturday's overtime hero, and Bryce Sweeting had a goal and assist. William Sullivan also scored. Devin Gilbert had two assists with singles to Ryan Anderson, Ryan Saunders, Nathan Larson and Travis Brault. Zack Wainman made 33 saves for the win while 73's goalie Darien Ekblad was pulled after four goals on 18 shots. Jacob Kment stopped 20 of 22 shots. Phil Janikowski and Aaron Thibert scored for Essex.

On Saturday, Walsh's second goal came 4:07 into overtime with Manley picking up one of his three assists. Saunders and Brault also scored with Larson assisting. Michael Popel, Scott Bromley, who forced overtime with 3:23 left in the third period, and Janikowski scored for Essex. Wainman got the win as the Chiefs outshot Essex 39-31.

Carson said there would a parade but details weren’t finalized as yet.

Hockey Hotel Peterborough
HockeyHotel.com is the preeminent year-round ice hockey skills development and training destination for individuals or teams in the country. We offer an environment in which hockey players can train at the highest level in a residential setting. Whether you are staying for two nights or a week our facility offers a complete training environment that fosters rapid player development.
Boston Pizza Peterborough
Boston Pizza Peterborough is a long-time sponsor of the PMHC. Boston Pizza is Canada’s No. 1 casual dining brand with more than 380 restaurants in Canada serving more than 100 unique and delicious menu items such as gourmet pizzas and pastas, juicy burgers and our famous BP wings. Annually, Boston Pizza serves more than 40 million guests, and in 2014 achieved system-wide sales that surpassed $1 billion. Boston Pizza has proudly been recognized as one of Canada’s 50 Best Managed Companies since 1994, achieving Platinum Member status since 2001.
Ben Smith Sells
As a registered sales representative, I am dedicated to providing you with the highest quality service possible. My personal knowledge as well as my resources for the local Real Estate market is what can make your next real estate transaction an easy and stress free one. I am able to list your property with current market value in mind, leaving you with a sense of satisfaction that you deserve. I can help you look for a home that is perfect for you, while maintaining your best interests throughout the transaction. I look forward to hearing from you regarding your next real estate transaction.
Fontaine Source for Sports
The beauty of Source For Sports is found in the way each store connects with their local community. Every Canadian knows that while we are all proud to be part of the True North Strong and Free, each community from coast to coast is unique, be it a quaint small town or a vast metropolis. Source For Sports stores are independently owned and operated, meaning store owners can customize their sport categories, products, and services to cater to the needs of the community they call home. We mean that literally, too, as many of our store owners grew up in the communities they now serve. It's due to this homegrown connection that many of our stores support local teams, tournaments, and initiatives to give back whenever they can.
Peak Benefit Solutions
At Peak Benefit Solutions, we know that you want to be an industry leader. In order to do that, you need to attract and retain the best employees. The problem is the benefits and retirement plan landscape is complicated which makes you feel frustrated and confused. We believe you should feel confident your advisor is an expert that knows what is best for your business. We understand the investment required to implement benefit and retirement plans which is why we solely focus on benefits and pension for employers and employees. We’ve helped over 350+ employers and 10,000+ employees bring clarity and value to their business.
Jesse's Tap and Grill
Jesse’s Tap & Grill is a local family owned and operated business and has been serving the Ennismore area for 20 years. With Grandma Ella’s catering secrets and recipes, we pride ourselves of more than 75 years of catering and restaurant experience. Join us for our Great Weekend Breakfast starting at 8a.m. OUR #1 PRIORITY IS CUSTOMER SATISFACTION AND WE WILL STRIVE TO MEET YOUR EVERY NEED