Minor AAA Petes Host Annual Banquet and Award Night, News, U18 Paul Tinney AAA Petes, 2022-2023 (Peterborough Minor Petes)

This Team is part of the 2022-2023 season, which is not set as the current season.
News Article
News Article Image
Organization | Apr 12, 2019 | PMHC Official | 12882 views
Minor AAA Petes Host Annual Banquet and Award Night
The “AAA” Minor Petes (Peterborough Minor Hockey Council) players, parents, sponsors and council members gathered at the Kinsmen Arena on Tuesday, April 10, 2019 to celebrate the end of the 2018/2019 hockey season at their annual Awards Banquet. Master of Ceremonies for the evening was Pete Dalliday co-host of 100.5 Fresh Mornings with Pete and Dani.

PMHC president Mike Martone kicked off the evening by recognizing the following sponsors who received a minor Petes Jersey.

·       Jesse’s Tap and Grill

·       Nadeau’s Collision Service

·       Fitzsimmons Towing and Repair

·       Russelle Chiropractic

·       Havelock Metal Company

·       BillySmithSells.ca

·       BenSmithSells.ca

·       Boston Pizza Peterborough

·       Foley Bus Lines.   

After a phenomenal meal by Jesse’s Tap and Grill, keynote speaker Marty Wilford, a minor Petes alumni, who is now an assistant coach with the Anaheim Ducks of the National Hockey League, addressed the attendees via a pre-recorded video.

Wilford talked about his minor Petes days as a player, being drafted and playing with the OHL Oshawa Generals, being drafted by the NHL Chicago Blackhawks and his journey as a pro hockey player to coaching in the NHL.

Pete Dalliday acknowledged and interviewed minor Petes alumni in attendance, Josh Wainman of the OHL Hamilton Bulldogs, Calvin Martin of the OHL Sarnia Sting and Matt McNamara of our hometown Petes as well as minor midget players who were drafted on April 6, 2019, J. R. Avon, selected in the first round, 11th overall, by the Peterborough Petes, Nathan Oickle, selected in the 10th round, 184th overall by the Kingston Frontenacs, Tyler Savard selected in the twelfth round, 220th overall, by the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds and Jacob Verner selected in the 13th round, 253rd overall, by the Peterborough Petes.

Following the awards presentation, PMHC president Mike Martone recognized long time minor hockey volunteer Len Warriner for 47 years of continuous dedicated service to minor hockey in Peterborough.  Len has held several positions on the board and has won several awards. Martone announced that the PMHC would be renaming the President’s Award the Len Warriner Award, which is presented annually to honor a PMHC volunteer who has provided many hours of dedicated service.

The following are the 2018/2019 season award winners:

Goaltender’s Award (presented annually to the goaltending duo with the best goals against average): Masen Johnston and Nick Fournier.

Chris Fee Award (presented annually to a major atom player voted by his teammates to be a player who plays the game of hockey with passion, skill and is well respected and liked by his teammates):  Evan Healey

Wally Beavis Award (presented annually to a major peewee player who has demonstrated sportsmanship, strong team play, and places the interests of their team and teammates ahead of himself): Rowan Stewart  

Shane Norris Award (presented annually to a major bantam player who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in scholastic and sportsmanship): Parker Burgess

John Leahy Award (presented annually to a player on the midget team who has demonstrated great dedication, leadership and sportsmanship): Jack Falkner

OHL Peterborough Petes  Steve Richey Education Fund Scholarship/Bursary Award (Presented annually to a deserving student who has given back to their community and has demonstrated an excellent work-ethic on and off the ice and is an ambassador of the minor Petes organization):  Nathan Twohey

Vali Ali Manager of the Year Award: Andrea Hatton

Trainer of the Year Award: Johnny Lawson   

Technical Coach of the Year Award: David Dalliday

Coach of the Year Award: Jamie Hartnett

President’s Award (presented annually to honor a PMHC volunteer who has provided many hours of dedicated service): Liana Brown

James Johnston Memorial Award (presented annually to a minor Petes player who exemplifies James Johnston’s character and skill)

Nominees from each team:

-from the Novice team – Wesley Elliott

-from the Minor Atom team – Silas Massey

-from the Major Atom team – Ryan Chamberlain

-from the Minor Peewee team – Cohen Bidgood

-from the Major Peewee team – Ethan Toms

-from the Minor Bantam team – Lucas Moore

-from the Major Bantam Team – Jack Ryan

-from the Minor Midget team – JR Avon

Winner of the James Johnston Award: Lucas Moore


David James Award (presented annually to a minor Petes player who exemplifies David James’s character):     

Nominees from each team:

-from the Novice team – Landen White

-from the Minor Atom team- Rocco Williams

-from the Major Atom team – Declan Ready

-from the Minor Peewee team –  goalies Masen Johnston and Nick Fournier

-from the Major Peewee team – Joel Kosobucki

-from the  Minor Bantam team – goalies Duncan Branch and Brayden Friedrich

-from the Major Bantam team – Dannyk Payment

-from the Minor Midget team – Cody Beavis

Winner of the David James Award Declan Ready


The following players received Esso Player Achievement Awards:


Most Dedicated – Landen White

Most Improved – Cooper Poskin

Most Sportsmanlike – Kai Kekki

Minor Atom: 

Most Dedicated – Landon Jessup

Most Improved – Tyler Crawford

Most Sportsmanlike – Grady Coughlin 

Major Atom:

Most Dedicated: Lewis Chatten and Morgan Hyndman

Most Improved: Graydon Walst

Most Sportsmanlike: Ethan Richardson

Minor Peewee:

Most Dedicated – Colin Fitzgerald 

Most Improved – Quinn Jacobs

Most Sportsmanlike – Ryder Perry


Most Dedicated – Ethan Toms

Most Improved – Finley Watson

Most Sportsmanlike – Trent Frederick

Minor Bantam:  

Most Dedicated- Charlie Blewett

Most Improved- Jack Lowry

Most Sportsmanlike- Kohl Millitz


Most Dedicated- Tommy Pollock 

Most Improved- John Croxson            

Most Sportsmanlike- Jack Ryan

Minor Midget:

Most Dedicated- Clayton Shaughnessy

Most Improved-Connor Lever

Most Sportsmanlike- Matthew Campbell


Picture attached of some of the major award winners front row (l-r) Andrea Hatton, Masen Johnston, Nick Fournier, Declan Ready, Evan Healy, Teagen Hartnett (for his father Jamie), back row (l-r) Johnny Lawson, David Dalliday, Rowan Stewart, Lucas Moore, Parker Burgess, Nathan Twohey, Liana Brown 

Other News